Notice of the 2016 ABCRA Annual General Meeting

The ABCRA Board of Directors gives notice that ABCRA's 2016 Annual General Meeting will be held at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday, November 15, 2016, at the Heliconian Hall, 35 Hazelton Avenue, Toronto, Ontario for the following purposes:

- To approve the agenda and the minutes of the October 6, 2015 Annual General Meeting (copy below);
- To receive and consider the report of the Co-Presidents;
To receive and consider the audited financial report * of the Association for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2016;
To consider and approve a resolution that Ian Campbell, of Hawton Campbell Chartered Accountants, be appointed auditor of the Association for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2017 and to authorize the Directors to fix the auditors’ remuneration;
To elect Directors;
To transact such other business as may properly come before the meeting, or any adjournment thereof.

All Members and residents are invited to attend the 2016 Annual General Meeting.  Come at 6:30 p.m. for refreshments and to meet ABCRA's Board of Directors, volunteers, and neighbours. 

Following the Annual General meeting we will hear from two guest speakers.

Councillor Wong Tam and Michael Spaziani architect and urban design expert and advisor to ABCRA. You will find his presentation "Foxes in the Henhouse" interesting.   

Election of Directors

To ensure continuity, the ABCRA Board of Directors is elected on a rotating basis.
Members wishing to stand for Nomination please read CALL FOR NOMINATIONS below.



Registered Members of ABCRA are entitled to vote.  Your vote is important.

The ABCRA Board of Directors is authorized to make most decisions for the Association.  If you are a registered member of ABCRA and attend the Annual General Meeting on November 15, 2016 you may cast your vote at the Annual General Meeting.

Dated as of October 11, 2016.

John Caliendo
Ian Carmichael
Board Co-Presidents

* Copies of the ABCRA Audited Financial Report for the fiscal year ending June 2016 will be available at the November 15th AGM.  However, ABCRA members who wish to receive a copy in advance of the meeting may email the board at or send a $2.00 stamped 8½x11” self addressed envelope to ABCRA, 59 Pears Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1S9, and the report will be delivered to you.

Heliconian Hall,  October 6, 2015

PRESENT: ABCRA members and Directors, Ian Carmichael (Co-President), Dianne Robinson (Treasurer), Bill Stevenson (Secretary), Linda Chu, Diane Dyer, Donna Lacavera, Mary Helen Spence, Sam Vise, Tracy Warne and about 115 area residents. 

AGENDA:  6:30 p.m. - meet and greet, refreshments; 7:00 p.m. - AGM; 7:45 p.m. - invited candidates for Councillor Ward 27 debate; 9:30 p.m. - adjournment and reception.  

WELCOME:  Co-President Ian Carmichael welcomed everyone, introduced the members of the ABCRA Board of Directors and outlined the agenda for the evening, a copy of which was given to all attendees as they arrived. 

The following Directors' and Members' Resolutions were then introduced:

Agenda: Motion: To approve the agenda as circulated. Moved by Ian Carmichael; Seconded by Mary Helen Spence. Disposition: Carried

Minutes: Motion: To approve the minutes of the 2014 AGM as circulated. Moved by Bill Stevenson; Seconded by Tracey Warne. Disposition: Carried

Financial Statements: Treasurer Dianne Robinson reported that as of June 30, 2015 ABCRA had net assets of $331,967, down $58,501 from the previous year as donations were down. Expenditures were $175,075, over 90% of which were for professional advice in urban design, legal and planning and development. Motion: To approve the audited financial statements for the period ending June 30, 2015. Moved by Dianne Robinson; Seconded by Bill Stevenson. Disposition: Carried

Auditor: Motion: To appoint Ian Campbell, CPA, CA, Partner, Hawton Campbell Chartered Accountants as the auditor for the upcoming fiscal year ending June 30, 2016 at a rate negotiated by the Directors. Moved by Dianne Robinson; Seconded by Mary Helen Spence. Disposition: Carried

Election of Directors: Directors' terms expire in rotation with approximately one third of the compliment coming up for election each year. Four Directors whose terms expire at this AGM agreed to stand for re-election for the regular three-year terms. A call for nominations was sent to all ABCRA Members and was posted on the ABCRA web site. There were no further nominations, so the positions are acclaimed. This year the Board of Directors sought to expand the number of Directors within the provisions of the articles of incorporation. Three volunteers have agreed to be appointed for one-year trial terms.

Election: Motion: To confirm the following slate for Board positions open for election and to present the names of the persons elected by acclamation for three-year terms: 1. Linda Chu 2. Diane Dyer 3. Donna Lacavera 4. Mary Helen Spence.     

Also to confirm the appointment of three additional directors for a trial period of one-year:  1. Lianne Miller 2. Sylvia Schumacher 3. Glenn Smith. Moved by Ian Carmichael; Seconded by Tracy Warne. Disposition: Carried

CO-PRESIDENT’S REPORT: Ian Carmichael thanked Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam for her complimentary remarks about the working arrangements between ABCRA and her office and particularly for involving us routinely and earlier in the planning process for development projects in our area. He noted that ABCRA is the one of pioneering residents association in the City and is now in its 59th year of contributing hundreds of thousands of volunteer hours to improving life and providing leadership to residents in Yorkville/North Midtown, one of the fastest evolving neighbourhoods of the city.

Ian discussed some of the many projects undertaken by Board Members over the past year. We were active before the Ontario Municipal Board (OMB). The OMB panel chair in the Ridpath application praised our constructive efforts in pre-hearing stakeholder meetings. In the 87 Avenue Road. (Old Howard Johnson) hearing, for which we spent considerable sums for legal and planning advice, the OMB panel chair confirmed that our design was the best of those presented at the hearing. We would like to think that our consistent advocacy for greater attention to public realm in development applications influenced the developer of 48/58 Scollard (at Bay) to include a 650m2 green space in his design. In the Minto Green P site the Minutes of Settlement requirement for contributions by the developer for public realm improvements resulted directly from negotiations with ABCRA.

While planning and development takes much for our time, Board members are also active on many other files. For example: work on the Community Rail Safety Committee, monitoring dozens of Committee of Adjustment and Sign bylaw variances, advocating with the City in response to residents’ concerns on such issues as traffic, parking, noise, etc. We are also members of the Federation of North Toronto Residents’ Associations (FONTRA) and Confederation of Resident and Ratepayer Associations (CORRA).

Ian extended a special thank you to Barb Moore, our wonderful volunteer webmaster. Barb maintains an excellent website to keep all the area residents informed about the latest neighbourhood, city and international news and information on urban issues. He suggested that residents should visit it often at